The Classics Spin #11: Going Rogue

CM Capture 1If you’re a book blogger, you know how this works. If you’re not a blogger, I hereby introduce you to the Classics Spin.

The Classics Spin is a semi-annual event run by The Classics Club. For each spin they ask bloggers to pick 20 classic novels from their Classics Club list (you can find mine here). The Club then picks a random number from 1 to 20, and it’s the blogger’s job to read the book from their Spin List that corresponds with that number. Got it?

Here it is again:

  • List any twenty books you have left to read from your Classics Club shelf.
  • 
Number them from 1 to 20.
  • On December 7th, the Classics Club will announce a number.
  • This is the book you need to read before the end of January (for my purposes, by Week 24).

13571581But in an effort to shake things up, I’m going rogue with this one. Gird your loins, it’s about to crazy up in here.

As an early Christmas present, I received Lives of the Novelists: A history of fiction in 294 lives by John Sutherland. In the 800-page behemoth, Sutherland chooses 294 novelists “whose works illustrate the best of every kind of fiction … Each author was chosen because his or her books are well worth reading and should remain so for at least another century.”

Authors are listed in chronological order, and each is given a tight 2-4 page biography before listing their Must Read Text.

I’m going to choose my #11 Spin List from Sutherland’s list. Five writers I’m excited to read, five I’m neutral about, five I’m dreading, and five that I’ve chosen at random.

Here is my Spin List:

  1. Oroonoko by Aphra Behn
  2. Emma by Jane Austen
  3. Portrait of a Lady by Henry James
  4. The Murder of Roger Ackroyd by Agatha Christie
  5. Wise Blood by Flannery O’Connor
  6. Lord Jim by Joseph Conrad
  7. Murphy by Samuel Beckett
  8. Soldier’s Pay by William Faulkner
  9. To the Lighthouse by Virginia Woolf
  10. The Prime of Ms. Jean Brodie by Muriel Spark*
  11. The Catcher in the Rye by J.D. Salinger
  12. The Burning Court by John Dickson Carr
  13. Weiland; or, the Transformation, an American Tale by Charles Brockden Brown
  14. Hothouse by Brian Aldiss    
  15. The Pillar of Fire by J.H. Ingraham
  16. The Scarlett Letter by Nathaniel Hawthorne
  17. The History of Mr. Polly by H.G. Wells
  18. The Grapes of Wrath by John Steinbeck
  19. Brave New World by Aldous Huxley   <—- Read My Review
  20. The Wizard of Oz by L. Frank Baum

* I read The Prime of Ms. Jean Brodie a few years ago, and hated it. But I feel like I may have misjudged it, so I’m thinking of giving it another go.

5 thoughts on “The Classics Spin #11: Going Rogue

      1. Yes please! Oh, I didn’t realize you were including books you may have read before on your list – how sneaky of you! I think I read the book when I was in high school and remember being underwhelmed/annoyed with it. Maybe I’ll like it more next time?

        Like

Leave a Reply

