Podcast Recommendation: Books on the Nightstand

On the night I discovered Books on the Nightstand, I stayed up listening until 3:45 in the morning, despite the fact that I had to get up at 8:00. I added 11 books to my To-Be-Read pile on Goodreads, and downloaded two other audiobooks besides. Needless to say, I was hooked.


nightstand-illuminating

I don’t know about you, but I don’t have very many people in my life who can sit down and talk books with me. It’s pretty much the reason I’ve blogged about them these last four years, and I’m willing to bet you’re here reading this for the same reason. If, like me, you crave discussions about books and publishing and the act of writing, then you’re about to meet two new friends.

Books on the Nightstand is hosted by Michael Kindness (great name) and Ann Kingman, both of whom work for Random House. They put out about a 45-minute podcast every Wednesday, and in each they give an audiobook recommendation, two book recommendations, talk about a particular issue or interview a person in the industry (a writer, publisher, editor, etc.) and preview a few books that are coming out later in the year (they’re ahead of the curve, being that they’re on the inside).

Both Kindness and Kingman are really smart, but really down to earth. They’re terrific at illuminating what’s great about a book without giving it all away, and their tastes seems pretty impeccable. If you’re someone who genuinely loves to talk about books, I can’t imagine you wouldn’t have an absolute blast with this podcast.

If you’re curious, I’d suggest you start with episode #311. This is their Favorite Books of 2014 episode. There are a ton of great books here, and it’ll give you an idea if, stylistically, they line up with what you like to read.

Give it a go. But try to get some sleep. That next morning was a doozy.

But totally worth it.

Leave a Reply

